Champions crowned at Woolworths Surfer Groms Comp pres. by Pic's Peanut Butter at Kiama.JONES BEACH, KIAMA

The first Woolworths Surfer Groms Comp pres. by Pic’s Peanut Butter event for 2020 wrapped up today following an exciting day of action in clean one-foot surf.

Dayan Conti (Kiama Downs), Alice Hodgson (Kiama Downs) and Benjamin Kolega (Kiama Downs) all managed to claim final victories on their home beach, taking out the Under-14 Boys, Under-12 Girls and Under-8 Mixed division respectively. All three surfers put on impressive performances to claim the win on their local turf and get the local surfing contingent on their feet.

Thirroul brothers Taj and Cruz Air took top honours in the Under-12 and Under-10 Boys division respectively, with both surfers putting on commanding performances over the course of their Woolworths Surfer Groms Comp pres. by Pic’s Peanut Butter campaign. Taj finished the final with a decent 7.80 two-wave total, while Cruz finished with a 10.87 two-wave total.

Fresh of a recent finals result at the Havaianas NSW Grommet Titles at Maroubra, Bodhi Simon (Port Kembla) was able to go a few steps further at Jones Beach, taking out the Under-14 Girls division. Simon surfed well beyond her years in the final posting dual wins across her two accumulative finals.

Close to 50 competitors competed in the event.

With the current NSW Health recommendations in relation to community sport, Surfing NSW implemented regional boundaries for Woolworths Surfer Grom Comps for each respective event location. The Kiama region spanned from Stanwell Park in the north to the Victorian border in the south.

Surfing NSW required all competitors to complete a survey on their health status and where they have been 14-days prior to competition.

Regarded as one of the major steppingstones in the development of young Australian surfers, the 10-event Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps series caters for surfers from Under 8 to Under 14 and will be held in New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria, Western Australia, Tasmania and South Australia over summer.

As an added bonus, the respective winners of the Under 14 boys’ and girls’ divisions from each event will receive an invite to attend an all-expenses-paid, three-day Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps National Final Surf Camp, (1-day coaching clinic, 2 days of competition and heat analysis coaching) at the Surfing Australia High-Performance Centre (HPC). For the South Australian, Victorian and Tasmanian events, the Woolworths Surf Camp prize will be awarded to the highest place Under-14 Boy and Girl who reside in that respective State.

Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps pres. by Pic's Peanut Butter 2020 Series Schedule:
EVENT 1 - Kiama, NSW - Sept 5 - 6, 2020
EVENT 2 - Northern Beaches, NSW - Sept 12 - 13, 2020
EVENT 3 - Coffs Harbour, NSW - Sept 26 - 27, 2020
EVENT 4 - Cronulla, NSW - Oct 17 - 18, 2020
EVENT 5 - Torquay, VIC - Oct 24 - 25, 2020
EVENT 6 - Clifton Beach, TAS - Oct 31, 2020
EVENT 7 - Trigg, WA - Nov 7 - 8, 2020
EVENT 8 - Fleurieu Peninsula, SA - Nov 14, 2020
EVENT 9 - Gold Coast, QLD - Nov 21 - 22, 2020
EVENT 10 - Sunshine Coast, QLD - Dec 12 - 13, 2020
National Final - Surfing Australia HPC, Casuarina QLD - Dec 18 - 20, 2020 - Entry by qualification.

The Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps is proudly supported by Woolworths, Pic’s Peanut Butter and 2XP.

NOTE: Due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation and Surfing Australia's commitment to comply with all State and Federal regulations, series dates are subject to change at any time.

U8 Mixed
3. Zahli Air (Thirroul)
2. Riley Woods (Kiama Downs)
1. Benjamin Kolega (Kiama Downs)

U10 Girls
3. Abigail Woods (Kiama Downs)
2. Rubylee Neil (Kiama Downs)
1. Kendall Payne (Gerringong)

U10 Boys
4. Boyd Cross (Gerringong)
3. Tommy Darragh (Gerringong)
2. Ashton Mekisic (Thirroul)
1. Cruz Air (Thirroul)

U12 Girls
4. Lizzy Barrington (Malua Bay)
3. Lani Caincross (Kiama Downs)
2. Lucy Darragh (Gerringong)
1. Alice Hodgson (Kiama Downs)

U12 Boys
4. Jett Blue (Thirroul)
3. Ty Campbell (Barrack Point)
2. Cruz Air (Thirroul)
1. Taj Air (Thirroul)

U14 Girls
4. Marley Eaton (Lilli Pilli)
3. Tiana Darragh (Gerringong)
2. Lucy Darragh (Gerringong)
1. Bodhi Simon (Port Kembla)

U14 Boys
4. Joshua Marsh (Barrack Point)
3. Koby Jackson (Lake Tabourie)
2. Samuel Lowe (Port Kembla)
1. Dayan Conti (Kiama Downs)

Pics Peanut Butter Star Performer: Benjamin Kolega (Kiama Downs) and Abigail Woods (Kiama Downs)
Woolworths Fresh Wave Award: Ashton Mekisic (Thirroul) and Alice Hodgson (Kiama Downs)